Skip to content
Powered by Pagefind
English
Divine Frequency Guides

Is Divine Frequency Worth It? Early Access Buyer's Guide

Is Divine Frequency worth $20 on Steam? This sourced Early Access buyer guide covers price, 4–6 hour scope, reviews, and demo vs paid—see who should buy or wait.

10/28/2026 Early Access Last updated: 10/28/2026 5 min read

FAQ

How much does Divine Frequency cost on Steam?
The Steam store lists USD $19.99, with a launch discount of 10% bringing the price to $17.99 at the snapshot we checked. Abraxaes states they are not planning to change the price when the game leaves Early Access.
Is Divine Frequency worth $20 in Early Access?
Officially, Early Access includes about two of three acts and roughly 4–6 hours of play with all weapons and modifications available—about 70% of the main game. Whether that is worth ~$20 depends on whether you enjoy the genre and accept incomplete story content; there is no planned EA price increase at 1.0.
Does Divine Frequency have good Steam reviews?
On 2026-10-28 the store showed Very Positive reviews—97% of 94 user reviews. Review counts change daily; check the Steam page for the current score.
Can I try Divine Frequency before buying?
Steam lists a separate free app, Divine Frequency Demo (AppID 2641750), linked from the Early Access store page in the Store API snapshot we checked on 2026-10-28. Links can be removed—confirm on the live Steam page. See our demo vs Early Access guide for scope and save-carryover limits.
Should I wait for the full release?
Waiting makes sense if you want the third act, planned Hardcore Mode, or polish fixes promised for 1.0. Waiting for a lower price is a separate bet: the developer says the base price should stay the same after Early Access, so sales are the main discount path.

Is Divine Frequency worth buying in Early Access?

Divine Frequency from Abraxaes costs $19.99 on Steam ($17.99 with the 10% launch discount on our snapshot). Early Access delivers ~4–6 hours across two of three acts, Windows-only, English-only, with no full controller support. Reviews were Very Positive (97% of 94) on 2026-10-28. Buy if that scope fits; wait for Act 3, other languages, or complete gamepad UI.

AppID 2548880 launched October 26, 2026. Early Access includes about 70% of the main game with all weapons and modifications and most character level progression, per the same FAQ. Keyboard and mouse are listed on itch.io; the project lead notes an Accessibility Option for partial pad use with UI gaps. That package fits retro FPS fans who want a compact run now—not buyers who need a finished trilogy or couch play.

What kind of game is it?

Steam lists Action, Adventure, Indie, and Early Access, with user tags such as Horror, FPS, and RPG. Content descriptors include intense violence, blood and gore, enemy dismemberment, and strong language. The store pitch centers on escaping from “the seat of the World’s consciousness” and pushing through the Perimeter into unstable realms, with optional Meso-Divinity arena duels and three primary archetypes (Strength, Wits, Physique) plus weapon modifications.

In a Steam discussion thread, one community member described the feel as a “retro shooter with survival horror elements”—a single-source label, not an official genre stamp. GamingOnLinux (2026-10-27) notes the project builds on GZDoom / UZDoom and that the Windows build ran under Proton 11 in their test; they also report heavy screen effects in the intro that caused eye strain for that reviewer—treat that as one media impression, not a universal fact.

Divine Frequency dark red corridor with a many-eyed red fleshy creature facing the player. The HUD shows health 92/100, Radiation 0/210 and the weapon readout DMG: Physical.

Image: Abraxaes, official Steam store screenshot #1. Build not stated.

Buy now if…

  • You want a short, focused campaign slice (~4–6 hours, two acts) with full weapon and mod access in EA, and you are fine stopping before the third act arrives in the full release.
  • Very Positive early Steam sentiment (97% / 94 on 2026-10-28) matches your tolerance for Early Access rough edges, including possible stutter or GPU quirks—see our performance and stutter fixes guide for community-reported workarounds, not official patches.
  • You play on Windows in English with keyboard and mouse, and you do not require complete gamepad support—details in controller support.
  • You like horror-leaning retro FPS with RPG-style stat choices; archetype framing is covered in best builds: Wits, Strength, Physique.

Wait if…

  • You need full controller support or reliable UI navigation on a pad—the developer states partial accessibility control only, with UI interactions not fully supported.
  • You require a language other than English (interface, audio, and subtitles are English only on the store page).
  • You want the complete three-act story, Hardcore Mode, and the extra enemies, bosses, builds, music, and performance fixes promised for 1.0—summarized in Early Access roadmap and Hardcore Mode.
  • Heavy screen effects or engine-level quirks worry you; read system requirements and Proton if you plan to play on Linux via Proton, and the stutter guide above for Windows performance reports.

Skip if…

  • You refuse Early Access products outright—EA is planned for about one year, possibly two if delays continue, and Abraxaes cites this as their first commercial game after a long demo cycle.
  • You need macOS or native Linux builds—the store lists Windows only.
  • Intense violence, gore, and dismemberment descriptors are deal-breakers—these are official Steam content warnings.
  • You expect a looter shooter grind loop; community replies in one thread push back on that label—see how long to beat and content size for genre context.

Divine Frequency chamber lit by a teal beam of light, with a glowing figure inside the beam, candles on the floor, several figures standing around it and the location label Waterways Access in the corner. The player’s fists are raised in the foreground.

Image: Abraxaes, official Steam store screenshot #5. Build not stated.

Price, demo, and the “wait for sale” question

Abraxaes writes: “We’re not planning on changing the price when we leave Early Access.” That reduces the incentive to wait purely for a post-1.0 price drop on the base game, but Steam sales still apply whenever Valve or the publisher runs them. Steam also hosts Divine Frequency Demo as a separate free app (AppID 2641750, Windows, released October 25, 2023). On 2026-10-28 the Store API still linked that demo from the paid game’s store page—check the live Steam page in case the link is removed. For price, scope, saves, and what is still undocumented between builds, see Divine Frequency demo vs Early Access.

For playtime and what is missing until 1.0, use how long to beat rather than guessing from old demo footage alone.

Where does this information come from?

Verified against the sources above on 2026-10-28.

Related Articles

Was this helpful?